Important Dates

ITC Specialist Seminar
Special session proposals:
May, 1st, 2013
Paper submission:
June, 24th, 2013
Acceptance notification:
August 1st, 2013
August 9th, 2013
Final paper submission:
September 15th, 2013 (extended)
Early bird registration:
October 1st, 2013 (Newer deadline)
Conference: November 20-22, 2013


University of Canterbury


Telecom NZ


Engineers Australia

Wireless Distributed Network for Cloud Communications

For economical viability reasons, wireless network operators have been using hierarchical cellular network architectures for several decades. Such architectures provided them with a centralized way in sharing and managing scarce resources. A flat and distributed architecture could be however more energy and resource efficient than a hierarchical system, with lower capital and operational expenditure and no single point of failure. This new architecture paradigm could also deliver a wide range of enhanced business and performance benefits for the operators deploying wireless networks. With the introduction of new mobile devices and mobile applications, these distributed flat networks can significantly reduce the system complexity and provide the foundation for a robust and versatile service delivery platform. They would also integrate much easier with the emerging cloud computing frameworks for a true wireless long-term evolution, leading the current wireless cellular model towards a new wireless grid paradigm.

Abbas Jamalipour received the Ph.D. degree from Nagoya University, Japan. He is currently the Professor of Ubiquitous Mobile Networking at the University of Sydney, Australia. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical, Information, and Communication Engineers (IEICE) and a Fellow of the Institution of Engineers Australia, an IEEE Distinguished Lecturer, and a Technical Editor of several scholarly journals. He has been the Editor-in-Chief, IEEE Wireless Communications, an Organizer or the Chair of several international conferences, including being the General Chair of IEEE WCNC2010, Technical Program Chair for the IEEE PIMRC2012 and IEEE ICC2014. He is the Vice President – Conferences and member of Board of Governors of the IEEE Communications Society (ComSoc). He is the recipient of several prestigious awards, including the 2010 IEEE ComSoc Harold Sobol Award for Exemplary Service to Meetings and Conferences, the 2006 IEEE ComSoc Distinguished Contribution to Satellite Communications Award, the 2006 IEEE ComSoc Best Tutorial Paper Award, and several other best paper awards.